May & June Wrap Up

So, the past few months have mostly involved waiting to see if Chad found a job.  Everything hinged on it – would we stay in DC, would we buy a house, would the numbers in our budget finally be exciting again?  Luckily, a few weeks ago he got an offer and just started work on Monday!

All of this is completely unrelated to the actual topic of this post, which is just to review my performance on goals.  You will note that I haven’t posted about goals in 2 months (worst blogger ever?), but I always set goals, even if they don’t make it to the blog.  In the hopes of slowly easing myself back into the blogging habit, here is a review of how I did.  July goals will hopefully follow soon.

May Goals – how I did

1. Work out 4 times per week. Done.

2. Read 8 books. Fail.
I’m STILL slacking on my 100 books challenge – I got through 5 in May. I confess, I just haven’t made reading a priority this year. Part of it is work stuff, part of it is other interests crowding it out, and part of it is just sheer laziness.

3. Buy Mother’s Day presents. Done!
I can’t really take credit for this one. We got my mom a fancy tea set that she wanted, but my little sister went above and beyond and had a hot dinner prepared for them when they returned home from a sailing trip that weekend. She even made them a pie! I am not the best daughter.

4. Cook using two ingredients I’ve never used before. Done!
I roasted an artichoke for the first time, and discovered: I don’t really like artichoke! Still love the hearts, though.
The second ingredient was quinoa, but I cooked it in the most boring way possible since I’d never had it before and wanted to get a feel for the flavor & texture. The box has sat in our pantry ever since, but I’ve got plans. Oh yes. (Thanks to MPP for the recipe link via Pinterest!)

5. Book travel to California. Done!
We ended up spending a little over $900 on our plan tickets out there, and some ridiculous amount on food and drinks once we got there. We also managed to see the Titanic exhibit, which was neat but probably not worth the $25 each it cost to get in.

6. Take advantage of overtime. Done!
OT has been a no go for most of the year (we’re a government contractor, so I actually think this is a good thing!). I ended up having to charge way more extra time than I’d expected. Turns out, when you’re offsite supporting other activities for a week, you have a ton of crap to do when you get back. July will also require massive amounts of overtime, and you know what? I think I’m going to be so sick of work by the time it’s done.

7. Use massage Groupon. Fail.
I never got around to scheduling it. I still have time (until February of next year), but I could definitely see myself putting it off until I have to scramble to get one of the last appointments!

June Goals – how I did

1. Work out 4 times per week. Done.

2. Read 8 books. Fail.
I made it through 6. Lame.

3. Help D prepare for interviews. Done!
One of D’s interviews involved a half-hour technical presentation and individual interviews with 4 other people. And then he didn’t get the job because of something that they could have known just by reading his resume! Luckily, though, I think all of the work we did helped him on the other interviews he had. He ended up getting an offer, as I’ve already shared.

4. Enjoy California. Done!
This was partly because D received and signed the job offer just before we left, so we were a bit freer with our spending than we might have been otherwise. While more money spent doesn’t alway correlate to more fun, it definitely helped that we didn’t even really have to think about it.

5. Bake something and bring it into work. Fail.
I did bake – mini blackberry pies (I deep-fried some of them, and they were magical), but there weren’t enough to share. (I said as I stuffed fried pie and ice cream into my face.)

How are you doing on your goals?

2 Responses

  1. You don’t really say, but I assume that Chad’s job is in DC and y’all will be staying there?

    • Yes, it’s just outside DC. We’re trying to decide if we’ll be staying here long enough to justify a house purchase!

Leave a Reply

