TurboTax Happy Hour Recap

It’s tax season!

I went to a happy hour sponsored by TurboTax on Wednesday, thanks to the lovely Brian from My Next Buck, who scored me an invitation.  We enjoyed hors d’oeuvres and drinks while TT showed off their new apps for phones and for the iPad.  I don’t have an iPad (woe), but the app for the phones was pretty cool – you take a picture of your W2 and it reads in all of your data from the picture.  We have too many things going on to use the 1040EZ (which is all the app is designed to handle by itself), but the app will transfer your data to the online system.  Which beats typing in all the numbers!

And no, I didn’t get paid to write a review or anything – although in the interest of full disclosure, I did have a beer and some crackers and dip. And I got a swag bag with some sweet TurboTax stuff (giveaway coming soon!). I also spent like $10 taking the Metro, and we have beer in our fridge, so I pretty much could have done the same thing at home for free.

It was fun to get to see everyone (Brian, J. Money, Shawanda, Stephen Popick), again; I haven’t made it to a DC Blogger Happy Hour since March of last year.  I also got to meet Ginger from Girls Just Wanna Have Funds, who is intimidatingly gorgeous and put-together in person, and TeacHer Finance, who is so nice and just 100% adorable and I wanted to steal her whole outfit. And some others whose blogs I can’t remember, but I’m not sure they’d want me posting their names on the internet, so.

A bunch of us left around the same time and ended up riding the train together.  Have you ever seen people talking about blogging on a train (OK, we also talked about mice and pets)?  That was us. And there were so many of us that we could have ganged up on anyone who thought we were creepy. We could have beaten them up with our TurboTax notebooks.

 

Anyway, giveaway coming soon, and I will hopefully get my February goals posted before the month is over. We’re hosting a SuperBowl party tomorrow, so maybe I’ll get the post up by Monday.

Have a great weekend!

 

3 Responses

  1. Oh fun! And yay, I was really hoping for a good tax giveaway soon. At least I’m hoping that’s what you meant. 🙂

  2. Awww thank you, it was great meeting everyone and see old faces! Hope to see you around at other local events!

Leave a Reply

