January In Review

Considering I only posted some of these a week ago and that I really didn’t set any difficult goals, perhaps it’s unsurprising that this has been one of my most successful months in a while.  Or I’m just extra-motivated since it’s still early in the year.

1. Reset 401K contributions and W4 withdrawals for 2012. Partial credit?
I ended up missing out on getting this done before my first paycheck, so I’ll probably end up needing to adjust these again this year.

2. Work out 4 days per week. Done!

3. Read 10 books & write a quick summary/review. Done!
I made it through 10!  I bought myself a cute notebook, and have done pretty well at jotting down some notes on each book.  Hoping I can keep it up all year!

4. Eat vegetarian for 1 week. Done!
We did 8 days, actually, with no cereal dinners in sight!  Lots of beans and pasta. D was pleasantly surprised by the awesomeness of MorningStar’s black bean burgers (too bad they are more expensive than hamburger!).  I am in love with Trader Joe’s black bean soup.  Other recipes we ate include the following: Moo Shu vegetables (good, but salty – definitely cut back on the soy sauce!) and these fried zucchini cakes, which just proves that anything is delicious when it’s deep-fried in oil.

5. Post my 2012 resolutions/goals on the blog. Done!
Sure, it was the last day of the month, but that’s good enough for me!

6. Research volunteer opportunities nearby. Done!
This amounts to basically having done a google search.  There is an animal shelter nearby that seems promising, and hopefully I can schedule volunteer hours for one of the nights D has class.

5 Responses

  1. Do you use GoodReads for keeping track of your books? I highly recommend it!

    Great month!

    • I should use something online, but then how would I justify buying cute notebooks? Just kidding – I’ll have to check GoodReads out!

      • True, but your handwriting is much nicer than mine. I write as little as possible, for fear people will think I have a grade schooler hanging around & taking notes for me.

        It is fun if you know a few other people on it, then you can see what people you know are reading. It’s like extra-nerdy facebook. 🙂

  2. Morningstar’s Black Bean Burgers are way expensive! BBBs are actually really easy and fast to make at home. I make these ones sometimes and they are really yummy! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/homemade-black-bean-veggie-burgers/

    You can also use garbanzo beans to make chickpea burgers. Mmmm…

    • Thanks for recommending a recipe – I looked at a bunch, but it’s hard to which ones will actually taste good!

Leave a Reply

