October Wrap-Up

As an engineer, I get that it’s sort of required that I watch the show The Big Bang Theory.  But you know what?  I can’t watch it.  I laugh at parts of it, but I just can’t get past the laugh track. I hate television shows with laugh tracks.  It’s like whacking off to a video of someone else whacking off.  I don’t need to know how funny other people think the show is.

Also, sometimes the studio audience laughs at nothing.  They cannot be trusted.

 

To Accomplish, October 2011

1. Work out 4 times per week. Done!
Okay, so the last week I only got in three workouts because of the freak snowstorm that we had last Saturday.  I’m still calling it good because everyone gets to be fat once in a while.

2. Read 8 books. Fail.
I made it through 6, with 3 more in the works.  Remember how I said I’ll switch between different books?  Yeah, that killed me this time!  Oh well.  I may not make it to 100 books by the end of the year (I’d say that’s distinctly unlikely!), but I’ve already beaten my goal of 50!

3. Try at least 3 new recipes. Done!
Here they are:

Moo Shu Veggies. These were really good, but when I tried to make them a second time, I discovered that you have to be really careful with the amounts. I tried to eyeball it, and everything ended up way too salty. And I say that as someone who loves salt!

Southwest Beef and Bean Burger Wraps. These were so good, although the refried beans made the burgers way too crumbly. Also, I ruined a pan with the grease.

Five Spice Turkey Lettuce Wraps. I used shredded chicken instead of ground turkey, but these were still really good!

4. Talk to my coworkers. Kinda?
I managed to sneak in a 5-minute conversation with one, but it was cut short, and definitely wasn’t as in-depth as I would have liked!  November is looking way too crazy for work stuff already, but maybe I’ll push this to December or even next year.

5. Read a book on a programming language. Done!
I started with a really easy one, and now am trying to slog my way through some code that others have written, in the hopes of improving some of our tools.  It’s funny because just learning the simple nomenclature stuff made those previously incomprehensible codes make sense!

6. Take car of all of my car inspections/bills. Done!
This was an easy one, but that’s probably just because D did almost everything, running around to all the different places to get the car inspected.  I went online and paid one bill.  Because I’m a contributor.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

