Just don’t look!

I’ve been slacking on checking my account balances lately, but I finally got a chance yesterday to log in and check on my 401K.

I knew the market had been bad, but I didn’t realize how bad.  My account was down $17,000!  Which means that I’ve lost (well, on paper) all of the money I’ve put in this year, including my employer match.

I know I’m too young to worry about what the balances are now (and that I should be celebrating the opportunity to buy low), but it still hurts.

I’m just going to have to keep singing this song from The Simpsons and just not look at my investment account balances.

How are you handling the market downturn?  Are you nervous about the lost money, or are you excited about getting a deal?  How do you deal with the stress?

(P.S. October goals coming soon – I promise!)

6 Responses

  1. Yeah…. I just looked at it yesterday to put together my NW and … yeah. Lost $7K in two months. I’m not even going to look at what I’ve lost since the beginning of the year. Because really.

  2. I’m still looking at it on a monthly basis to check our (non-posted) net worth. I feel like even though it’s not pretty, I need to have a general idea of what’s going on.

    We’ve already maxed out our Roth IRAs for the year, but we’re not eligible to contribute to 401(k)s at our new jobs quite yet. I’m a leeeeetle thankful for that, although it’s such a great time to buy right now that I could drive myself crazy thinking about it.

    Deep breathing….deep breathing…

    • Yeah, I’m keeping track of our net worth, which is usually the only time I look anymore. It’s just so disheartening to see it go down!

  3. My pension has halved in the last three years. My next investment will be real estate. You’ve lost $17,000 but, guess what: the guy managing your 401K still gets his commission every year, which disgusts me and why there’s a mass demonstration on Wall Street as I write.

    • Well, hopefully he just gets paid in shares of stock, so maybe he can feel my pain! (But probably not, sigh…)

  4. I haven’t invested much money into the stock market, but my market value of my RSP (I’m Canadian, so the Canadian equivalent of the 401(k)) is $50 less than what I’ve contributed (which is only about $550) so even that is crazy to see. But I’m on the same page as you, where I’m not worrying too much about it because I’m young and still have lots of time to make some money.

Leave a Reply

