September Wrap Up

 

Wow, epic fail this month.  I have plenty of excuses (and all of them are work-related), but it’s still a little frustrating.  Some of these I just forgot about, and some I just ran out of time on since I was on travel last week.

How do you keep track of your goals throughout the month?  I guess it would help if I kept up with blogging more, then I’d probably see the post way more often!

1. Work out 4x per week, 2 of which should be running.  Fail.
I got my ass kicked by work this month – it was the first month where I consistently didn’t meet my workout goals, averaging only about 2-3 trips per week. The running thing totally didn’t happen after the first week.  I have to cut myself some slack because my work schedule really didn’t make much time for anything else, but I definitely need to get back on the horse next month!

D as actually been going to the gym himself!  I’m very proud that he manages to find the motivation to get in some physical activity every day.  I’m hoping he can keep it up now that our vacation is over.

2. Read 10 books. Done!
Technically I finished book #10 on October 1st, but I’m calling it good.

3. Pack away summer clothes. Fail.
However, we haven’t really reached fall yet, so I’ve still needed my shorts and tank tops.  I did pull out some of my fall clothes (wishful thinking!), but it’s still too hot to wear them.

4. Try at least 3 new recipes. Kinda?
I officially made two recipes.  I also kind of eyeballed some shrimp stir fry (which is where I dump vegetables, shrimp, and a bunch of seasonings in a pan and hope it works out), and got D to make a third recipe.  I did some aspirational grocery shopping today (read: spent a bunch of money on obscure ingredients in the hopes that it would motivate me to cook), so I’ll repeat this goal for October!

5. Chat with a couple of my coworkers about their jobs. Fail.
It’s easy to blame this on a bunch of different factors – some work stuff came up at the last minute (I even wrote a post about it!).  Still, I’m mad that I didn’t force myself to do this. I did at least let them know that I’d be coming to see them, so hopefully I can get this done in October.

6. Don’t worry too much about money while we’re in California. Done!
I’m glad – I didn’t let money worries stop us from doing anything while we were in California.  We didn’t attempt to do much, and luckily the best stuff (volleyball on the beach, fighting about college football) are all free!

What does it say about me that one of the two goals I actually managed to finish this month is me doing absolutely nothing?

7. Go to the tailor. Fail.
Uh oh.  Better get this done, I don’t want to actually have to get rid of my stuff!

3 Responses

  1. I have to ask – how do you read 10 books a month?! I’m a fairly fast reader, and in a busy month, there is no way I can get through 10. Even in a slower month, it is hard.

    Better luck this month!

    • Well, I am a pretty fast reader – it’s not unheard of for me to read two books in a single day if I don’t have anything else planned.

      I also have the pressure of most of them being library books – if I don’t read them in time, I have to go back onto the waiting list. And because almost all of my books come from the library, I don’t always read the best of books – usually I’ll switch back and forth between challenging fiction, not-challenging fiction (like I just read The Hunger Games last week – I got through the book in 2 days. It’s an awesome book, but stylistically pretty easy to read), and I will usually grab a couple of nonfiction books on sociology or astronomy or something. That also means that if I can’t get into a book, I move on and read something else that appeals to me, and come back to the harder book later.

      I’ll be interested in seeing how I do with reading now that new TV seasons are starting. Reading was my primary form of entertainment this summer, which is why I think I read so much!

  2. I also don’t know how you manage to read 10 books! If I read that fast, I wouldn’t really absorb anything (or forget pretty soon afterwards)..

Leave a Reply

