She returns

I walked out of the airport and was greeted with the roar of traffic. One of the things I always forget about LA is the sheer number of people. I always feel deliciously anonymous, which is not a feeling I get anywhere else. The palm trees made me feel homesick for a city I don’t live in anymore.

I was giving my briefing in the same building I used to work in, so there were lots of run-ins with the people I used to work with. I didn’t leave on bad terms, so it was all very pleasant, but it does get old, repeating, “Oh, I’m giving a briefing,” a thousand times.

My presentation went well! It even caught the attention of the man I call my “career crush,” since he has the exact job I want when I finally get good enough at all this engineering stuff. Not to brag (although I probably am), but my presentation was deemed the best of the day. This was owed in no small part to the animations I used for comedic effect. One goal for the month checked off! (Now, if I would just call the eye doctor…)

I fly back to reality tomorrow, so I’ve loaded my Nook with a number of trashy novels that won’t make me seem smart but will suck me in for most of my 6 hour flight. Sadly, this also marks the end of getting to buy venti lattes and premade salads and cookies as big as my face, just because it’s all going to be expensed anyway.

One more night, so I’m driving down to San Diego to visit my sister. Who needs sleep when there’s bonding to be had? San Diego always was my favorite, better than LA any day.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

4 Responses

  1. Yay! Congratulations on everything going well.

    A “career crush”… I like that. I wish I had one. I have a lot of people I look up to, but no idea what I want to be “when I grow up”

    Glad you enjoyed your visit. (I already can almost cry thinking about the fact that we might have to move next year if T pursues the academic route.)

    And also, this goal is way more important than the eye doctor, so, you still win.

    • There’s just something about the palms trees and running on the beach that almost makes me wish we’d never left. I guess it’s just because I grew up (& now live) in land-locked areas. What makes me really sad is when places change – big, shiny new building, old apartment complexes torn down, favorite restaurants closed. It makes me feel like someday I won’t be able to feel nostalgic because there will be nothing left that I remember!

  2. I feel ya. I flew into LA this morning and out this evening for work as well.

    I’ve never lived there, but every time I go, I always wish I did, if only for a short while. It also doesn’t help that the company “preferred” hotels are on the water in Long Beach or Huntington Beach…

    • I don’t think I’d trade my time there for anything, but living there is pretty different from visiting. I’m definitely planning to snag as many free trips out there as possible, but I don’t know if I’d want to move back…

Leave a Reply

