To Accomplish, May 2011

It has been 2 months since I set goals for myself!  I actually have had short lists scribbled in my planner, but never got around to typing them up for the blog.  Here’s hoping that May gets me back on track!

To Accomplish, May 2011

1. Work out 4x per week.
Working out has almost become a habit, and I keep track closely since I try very hard to avoid having to exercise on the weekends.  I’m trying to mix it up a little bit – yesterday I went to Zumba with some friends from work.  FYI: I cannot dance. 

2. Read 5 books.
I love that my Nook makes reading so easy!  I discovered that my library has about 2000 eBooks available, and although some have a wait list, many do not.  I put together a long wishlist of about 200 books, which if I meet my 50-books-per-year goal every year, I’m good out to 2015.

3. Go to the eye doctor.
I have one pair of contacts left, and my glasses have gone kind of funny, sliding down my nose at the most inopportune times.  I also put extra money into my FSA specifically so I could buy new glasses & contacts, so I have to do it soon since I know it will take me at least 3 months to figure out how to submit a claim.

4. Be more social.
I don’t make friends very easily, but I’ve gotten close to a couple of girls at work.  I tend to enjoy my alone time a little too much (I have all those books to read!), so I’d like to make a concentrated effort to actually go to the various happy hours & such.  The Zumba experiment was part of this goal, and there’s a happy hour tonight. (Is it sad that going out and having fun has to be a goal?)

5. Go to training on industry software.
I’m already registered for this class, and I don’t anticipate skipping the classes for any reason.  This is also my first chance to see what D.C. traffic is like – with my 2-mile commute, I’ve remained blissfully unaware so far.

4 Responses

  1. I’m amazed you can work out 4 times during the week. I usually get overwhelmed if I have to do 3 weekday workouts. I need at least 1 evening to get chores done (groceries/etc) and who works out on Fridays?

    These look reasonable! Good luck!

    • Well, I always let myself count one day of doing yoga as exercise, even though it’s not cardio.

      My favorite thing to do is workout videos from Netflix. It’s easy to cram one in at the end of the day if I think I’m going to miss my goal!

  2. I’m really impressed by this. Do you do this every month? Does it really help focus you more? I bet it would be really good for me. How do you decide what you list?

    • I try to make a list every month, even if it’s just scribbled in a work notebook. The accountability to people (even if it’s just anonymously through the internet) makes me more likely to follow through.

      I try to think of this as a “To Do” list, but I only put on larger items, or things that I’d put off if I wasn’t reminded. I definitely suggest it, though – they say writing down goals vastly improves your chances of meeting them!

Leave a Reply

