To Accomplish, February 2011

I’m working some crazy shifts this month and next (including a week of working midnight – 8am), so I’m not going to set any super challenging goals for myself!  The nice thing about working shift is that I earn a lot of overtime, but spend so much extra time sleeping and trying to recover that I don’t end up buying very much!  With any luck, I’ll be back on my normal schedule just before my birthday and I can use part of the overtime to splurge on myself.

To Accomplish, February 2011

1. Continue wearing everything in my closet.
It is ridiculous that I could go for a month without repeating any tops!  I’ve been wearing a lot of my pants because it’s so cold, and I also have a ton of skirts to wear as well.  All of this has me questioning whether I really need any new clothes ever again.  I still get the urge to buy whenever I see a well-style Anthropologie product shot and lament my shopping ban, so we’ll see.  I’ll probably have to institute some kind of one-in-one-out rule, starting with a big closet cleanout.  I’m wearing everything, but I’m getting a feel for which items are too small or fit funny.  Some stuff I hang onto just because I paid so much for it (a couple of Anthro shirts that I bought full price, for example) or because it represents a major shopping coup (the $150 skirt I snagged for $20).

2. Max out my Roth IRA.
I mentioned in my previous post that I was getting a bonus this year.  Well, I’m not going to allocate any of that as fun money, I’m going to use it to finish maxing out my Roth!  Remember, I swore to stay under my personal spending limit ($2400 + a birthday bonus) for this year anyway, and I think I’ll have enough overtime in April to make for a nice birthday bonus anyway.

3. Read 5 books.
This is a stupid goal, and I don’t think there is a chance of me making it.  Still, I’m hoping it will force me to choose reading over other time-wasting activities (like reading blogs or watching TV).  I probably have at least this many unread books scattered around the apartment anyway!

4. Work out 4x per week.
I discovered a small selection of workout videos on Netflix, so no excuses, even if I feel like death while I’m on shift.  I won’t even have to leave the apartment!  I’m hoping I can make it out for at least one run per week, but if I’m going to be stuck on a treadmill, I might just go for the workout videos anyway.

5. Finish all unfinished goals from January.
– Call the dentist. For serious.
– Organize the apartment in a way that doesn’t involve buying stuff — yet.

2 Responses

  1. Wow. You have a tough work schedule! Makes it difficult to make it to the PF Happy Hours? Missed you on Friday.

    • Ugh, I was so mad that I was missing the happy hour! I usually don’t try to force everyone else to follow my schedule, but I might request we do the next HH in Arlington on a night when I’m free!

Leave a Reply

