Net Worth Update

This spring, I made my net worth page private after a privacy issue.  It was always my intention to write posts on my net worth every month or every few months to make up for it, but that plan apparently died.  Since I’m trying to get back into the swing of blogging (and since I remain hopelessly uninspired by personal finance), I thought I’d give you all an update.

Mostly, our net worth has been wavering around $250K for the past few months.  First the stock market wasn’t performing.  Then we took cash out of savings to pay for Chad’s tuition.  Then we put it back in because he won the research job.  Last month was the best since we had huge gains in the stock market, sending our retirement accounts up $15,000!

My 401K value is getting close to the six-figure mark, and the rest of our accounts aren’t doing too badly either.  We were stockpiling cash to pay Chad’s tuition, and now we’ve been debating various options for it.  There’s still the idea of buying a house, for which we’d need most of the cash for a down payment, so I hate the idea of sticking it in something illiquid only to have to pull it out.

Sometimes I wish we’d been in this good of a situation a few years ago, back when savings accounts were offering 5%.  On $100,000, that interest would be $500 per month!

3 Responses

  1. 5% seems like a dream now.

  2. Hopelessly uninspired?

    The inspiration will come. And even if it doesn’t, just keep up the good work. You’re obviously doing this right. =)

    Also… 5%… *sigh* I wish!

  3. Cripes, you have six figures in cash savings???

    *sigh*

    It’s not a race. It’s not a race! Haha.

Leave a Reply

