Decision on the Smartphone

Well, it seems that my readers and I pretty much agree: a smartphone would be a complete frivolity in my life right now. The combination of not having it at work (9+ hours per day) and my current inability to surf the web while sleeping (6-8 hours per day) mean that I’m missing out on PRIME CONNECTED TIME. I also don’t usually go places where I can use my laptop if I want.  Combine that with my hatred of phone calls, and it just doesn’t make sense.

However! Since I do love the shiny, I’ve compromised with myself.  I finally downloaded the software upgrade for my first-generation iPod ($4.95) and some apps for websites I use often (Twitter, Facebook, Gmail, and Google Reader).  It’s not life-changing, but it’s handy.  And as long as I can find WiFi, it’s almost just like having a smartphone!

I still think that the WiFi hotspot feature on the Palm Pre Plus would be fantastic once Chad starts working (right now I think our internet usage is probably over the limit). Ultimately, the upgrade wouldn’t be worthwhile. For now.

2 Responses

  1. Can you do a post on how to get wi-fi and apps on an ipod? I have a 4 different ipods, the nano and shuffle and had no idea that you can get apps or use them like the itouch. Or did I misunderstand what you’ve done?

    • Well, I have the iPod Touch, so that’s why I was able to get apps & get on WiFi. I’ll try to reword the post so that’s more clear!

Leave a Reply

