Sneaking a peek: what I discovered

Apparently all of my readers are as nosy as I am!

It might have been easier if I’d discovered a huge disparity between our salaries.  The next step would be clear: demand a raise!  Feel resentful toward my boss for offering so much less (and rejecting my negotiation attempts)!  Blog bitterly about women’s rights!

Except the disparity is much, much smaller than I expected.  In fact, it was so small that my raise will push me past his salary, although his raise will certainly offset that gain at the same time.  It almost seems fair – I’m a year younger than him, so I earn a year behind his salary.  Would he think it was fair?  I doubt it.  I mentioned that he has an additional degree, so the fact that our salaries don’t take that into account would probably bother him.

This really has me wondering about the explanation for the disparity.  All things being equal, his extra degree should count for several more years of experience.  So why is the difference smaller?

One probable reason is that I had 3 job offers; in order to have me choose this position, they had to  match my offer from another job, which is on a program known for paying high salaries.  Another reason could be that the pay grades that our company uses to determine salary were updated right before I received my offer.

There’s also the fact that – and excuse me if this sounds really conceited or something – I am perfect for this job.  If someone was crafting a job for me, this is the job they would make (except it would pay $20million per year).

And actually, this answered some lingering questions I’d had about why my salary counteroffer was rejected.  If they’d given in, I’d be making more than him!

 

8 Responses

  1. Its possible he didn’t do much negotiating when he got his offer. A statistic I’ve heard is people who negotiate salary wind up with about 7% more than they were originally offered. Lately, that’s equivalent to 2 annual increases.

  2. Interesting! I think the competing job offers is huge. People say that you end up making more $$ (generally) if you switch jobs and even companies.

    That’s great news though — you know you are being fairly paid for a perfect job!

  3. lol….yup, definitely nosy readers. (Makes sense, doesn’t it? hehe) I’m glad to hear you didn’t discover any huge disparities!

    About the additional degree though, there are some industries in which it doesn’t really make a difference….until you’re in upper management or something. (That was the case in the industry I worked in.)

  4. Competing job offers is the best way to really push your salary.

    It’s better to negotiate wisely at the start, than to accept any ol’ offer (that is, if you are in the position to negotiate), and then try to work yourself up to what you would have originally gotten via bonuses or whatever else.

    You’re totally ahead of the game from the start.

  5. Yes in banking folks with an MBA don’t necessarily get paid more than those without it, and I know that’s similar in many industries – especially those where sales/performance matters.

    There are some jobs you can’t get without an advanced degree, but otherwise they often don’t give you anywhere near as much bargaining power or higher wage as most people think.

  6. Gr, now I wonder if I could have been more successful in negotiations if I had competing job offers in hand.

  7. I would have sneaked a peak, for sure.

    In fact, I regularly do. Being that I am at a public school ALL of my coworkers salaries are posted for anyone to see.

  8. Our pay info is very easy to find if you know where to look. Interesting that at your place, it sounds like there isn’t much disparity. The pay structure at my work is pretty messed up, I’ve managed incompetant fools who were making more than me. But then I also know very senior people making peanuts, it makes no sense and definitely breeds discontent.

Leave a Reply

