DC Blogger Happy Hour Recap

I found out about the DC Blogger Happy Hour (DCBHH) through My Pretty Pennies’ post in December. It’s hard finding IRL friends who share my passion for revealing intimate details about my finances to strangers on the internet, so I was immediately intrigued. I signed up for the email list, and got word that we’d have one last Thursday.

I tried to plan ahead and emailed the group with general information on my appearance and a general plea for pity (“I have red hair and will be wearing a green sweater. Please find me!”) so that I wouldn’t have to experience that dreaded moment when you realize you don’t know what anyone else looks like. Of course, the bar was packed and the descriptions other people sent out were either non-existant or would have fit about 25% of the people in the bar.

I stood in the doorway and sort of twirled around so that someone would notice that there was a redhead with a green sweater on and perhaps we’d better go fetch her. No luck there, so I called Chad in a panic and had him check Twitter. Mrs. Micah, in all of her awesomeness, had tweeted she was wearing pink. Aha! I spotted a girl in a pink sweater sitting with the guy who had sort of tilted his head when I looked at him (although giving no other indication that perhaps he was part of the group I was looking for, BRIAN).

After that, of course, things went pretty smoothly. Here is a quick rundown of the bloggers who were there:

Mrs. Micah is so ridiculously nice in person. We shared a couple of appetizers and our love of the Dresden Dolls. She was even kind when I butted in on her conversation with Brian about a comic book by saying, “I didn’t like that book when I read it in high school.” Yeah.

Brian from My Next Buck bore all of my sarcasm and teasing with the patience of a saint. Although he & Mrs. Micah made me feel like a blogger slacker with their talk about website design and marketing techniques. They encouraged me to not suck so hard at blogging, but couldn’t think of any way for me to do it without increasing my 20-minutes-a-week time commitment (my only condition!).

J. Money is just as awesome in real life as you think.

Me in Millions was impossibly tiny and all kinds of adorable. I didn’t get a chance to talk to her much. She left partway through to go make out with a boy, which, you know, good call.

Engineer Your Finances was there, and pretty much illustrated why no one visits my blog: he talked about how much time he spent designing his website and writing real content before the website even went live. This is diametrically opposed to my method, which was to start a blog and 5 minutes later have the first post up, and continue to write sporadically with whatever the blogger equivalent of verbal diarrhea is. He is also running the same race as me in April, but instead of setting vague goals like “run the whole thing,” he is training to finish in under 80 minutes. It sounds like he might get out of breath. (I probably could have rewritten this whole paragraph by just saying, “he is better than me at everything,” but that would have sounded sarcastic.)

I sat a little too far away from Daniel from Sweating the Big Stuff to get to talk to him very much, but he laughed at all my jokes, which clearly means he has a great sense of humor. Or he is very kind.

I only got a chance to talk to Shawanda from You Have More Than You Think briefly as we walked to our cars, but she is simply stunning in person. I didn’t want to say it to her face because that’s creepy, so I’m mentioning it on the internet because that’s just sort of shady and strange, which is better.

I didn’t talk to Stephanie from Poorer Than You at all, but she had awesome hair.

It was awesome getting to meet everyone, and I’m already looking forward to the next time!

14 Responses

  1. I’m so jealous! I’m pretty far from DC, but maybe I can schedule my DC trip around the next happy hour….and mysteriously disappear from my family’s side for an hour or two, lol. (I’m only half joking)

  2. “impossibly tiny and all kinds of adorable” Like it πŸ™‚

    I was hoping we could chat more because yours (shh!) is one of the only blogs I read regularly of the people who were there. I just got so caught up in listening to people who know SOOO much more than I do about blogging. Plus, I had to go, ya know, make out πŸ˜‰

    • It’s funny, I had always read “Me in Millions” as “Mein Millions.” I know you space it out, but the url plays tricks on my brain. But now I’ve met you I think I’ll remember it right.

    • They made me feel like such a slacker!

  3. Aw. Thanks for the compliment! I almost sat out the last happy hour to watch Big Love on DVD. I’m glad I didn’t miss it. Always a good time.

  4. Dresden Dolls?! So you know all about Coin Operated Boy?!

    Most ridiculous song/music video ever!

    • Haha, I think Coin Operated Boy was one of the first songs I ever heard by them.

      I like the inside joke in the video when she “can even take him in the bath.” We all know what the REAL lyrics are!

      • Lol, it’s true. Coin-Operated Boy was the first one I listened to, then saw the video for. Then I saw a vid of her doing it live and I learned what the real lyrics to that part are.

        It was awesome meeting you too! πŸ™‚ And honestly, I think it matters more to be happy with the blog you have than to put zillions of hours into it chasing something that’s not high on your list of priorities. If it’s your priority, then hours of work = good. But if you want to blog & enjoy the community that reads it, then that’s just as good.

        Someday I’m going back to Open Diary to open an account. πŸ˜‰ Well, maybe not, but I’d like to set up a personal blog again someday.

  5. This makes me wish I was in DC so I could have met y’all!

    They sound awesome… πŸ™‚ Not only on their blogs but IRL too, apparently.

  6. […] a week this has been.Β  Since the blogger happy hour last Thursday, my life has gone in all sorts of weird directions.Β  Lots to tell and it all ties into personal […]

  7. Heehee, thanks for the comment about my hair! Hope we get a chance to talk next time around πŸ™‚

  8. HA! Enjoyed the write-up. Like your analysis πŸ˜‰

    Remember YOU are the rocket scientist, my engineering is referred to as “close enough”. You are much better than me.

    verbal diarrhea? hilarious & gross…

    Ran 7.5 mi last night @ 8:08/pace πŸ™‚

    Don’t scuff at your own goals – it’s a big accomplishment to finish, especially since they’re going to end the race whether your finished or not!

    When you did your twirl, I noticed. I thought, “here’s another person who looks awkwardly out of place”.

    Happy Blogging…

    • I don’t think I’ve run an 8-minute mile since high school. I’ll be pretty pleased with myself if I finish. It’s looking like I’ll manage.

      When you did your twirl, I noticed. I thought, β€œhere’s another person who looks awkwardly out of place”

      Love it.

Leave a Reply

