January Wrap-Up

January was a good month!  I worked a bunch of overtime, and if I keep it up, I might actually be able to reach my savings goals for the year.  Even better, I haven’t completely abandoned any of my resolutions.

1. Reconcile all bank accounts. Almost.
Somehow, everything I owed my sisters and everything that was owed to me sort of evened out.  I might still owe < $50 to my sister, but at this point, it’s up to her to let me know.  The discrepancy between my budget and bank account remained at the end of 2009, but I’m giving myself a clean start for 2010.

2. Don’t spend any money on new clothes. Done!
My original goal was that I could buy accessories, just not clothing items.  After reading QLGirl’s post on how submitting to wants makes it harder to resist them the next time, I’m wondering if perhaps I shouldn’t be going cold turkey.

However, I have to go to a really fancy bar/bat mitzvah for Chad’s cousin’s in early March. It’s going to be hard enough resisting buying a new dress for the occasion, and I think being unable to dress my old black lace dress up will officially drive me over the edge. I think I’ll continue with this version of the goal next month.

3. Run at least 10 miles per week. Done!
I’ve figured out that going to the gym right after work is the only thing that works for me. As soon as I get home, I want to sit on the couch and watch Mad Men on DVD and surf the internet.

4. Do yoga 3 times per week. Fail.
I only went to a few of the classes at work (I was on a special assignment at work and had to miss them) and didn’t do any of my DVDs. I also joined Well-Heeled for the 30 Day Shred. Doing that + running was hard enough. Adding an hour of yoga seemed over the top. Plus, Chad actually agreed to Shred with me, so it made it all the more appealing.

5. Get our apartment livable again. Kinda?
We’re waiting for the insurance company to reimburse us for the estimated cost of making new couch cushions, but then it will almost be like we’re adults!

6. Combine bank accounts. Done!
I thought I was a good saver, but Chad is better. And he wasn’t even working for 6 months!  I was pleasantly surprised, although now I have some further questions about how we should handle these accounts going forward.

3 Responses

  1. How long do you have to keep up the overtime to meet your goals?

  2. I am split between feeding the shopaholic beast or just going cold turkey

    I feel like both can end badly…. but I’d rather feed the beast if possible

    Since it isn’t (as I am on a ban) I’ve been living vicariously through others

  3. Glad the bank account combining went well and that you and Chad are on the same page, hopefully that makes you feel a little more secure 🙂

Leave a Reply

