To Accomplish, January 2010

I know I haven’t gone over my goals from December, nor have I posted my 2010 goals yet.  Rest assured that they are both coming!  I have a good idea of what I want to do in 2010, it’s just a matter of typing it out.  December’s wrap-up will have to wait until I’ve figured out all the various gift expenses I owe or am owed by others.

1. Reconcile all bank accounts. 
This means balancing the books on those gifts!  Since there’s a discrepancy in my 2009 money tracking, I’m going to wipe the slate clean for 2010, but that means I need to get rid of all of my 2009 leftovers.

2. Don’t spend any money on new clothes.
Since I really don’t have as much money to play with this year, I am going to try to go until April without buying new clothes.  I was thinking of allowing myself to buy accesories – belts and whatnot – and maybe a new winter coat, but nothing else until my birthday.

You know what makes this goal hard?  The fact that almost all of my clothes currently smell like smoke.

3. Run at least 10 miles per week.
For some reason, Chad decided that signing us up for a 10 mile race in April would be a good idea.  Since the race cost almost $40 for each of us, we really have no other option than actually running it.  I really don’t like running, so I’m starting out small and I’m going to work my way up to running more.

4. Do yoga 3 times per week.
This shouldn’t be too hard to meet.  I have a class at work 2x per week, so it’s up to me to find one extra day to do some of the yoga DVDs I bought for Christmas vacation.  This is no great hardship – I’m finding that I really like doing yoga!

5. Get our apartment livable again.
It’s looking like our insurance covers a lot of what we’ll need to do.  We’re getting our clothes sent out to be cleaned, but there’s still the matter of our couch cushions and mattress.  By February, I hope to have forgotten that there was ever a fire.

6. Combine bank accounts.
We’re current in the process of combining our savings accounts.  This is mostly because it’s easier than changing my name with ING – they make you mail stuff in, and I don’t think I’m organized enough to remember to do that.  Not to mention that it really will be easier to know how far along we are in savings if we decide to buy a house, or if Chad decides to go back to school full-time.

Stay tuned – my 2010 goals are coming!

2 Responses

  1. Good for you and Chad for deciding to run a 10k. I hate running too, so good luck! After what’s happened during the holidays, 2010 will only be an up year for you. 😀

  2. I did a 10k awhile back and I am also not a huge fan of running 🙂 I found the Couch to 5k to be a big help in getting started… I skipped a couple of weeks (since I wasn’t exactly starting from the couch) and by the time I was comfortable with the 5k… adding distance to get to 10 wasn’t a huge deal. Good luck!
    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Leave a Reply

