November Wrap-Up

1. Save $2500, less whatever I spend on gifts. Done!
I was able to do this!  And you all will be happy to know that I split a larger baby shower gift with my Mom and my sister, so I was only out $100 for the baby shower present.

2. Do not spend any money on new clothes. Done!
I made it!  It should not have felt so hard.  I did break down and buy the tights (in brown and in navy), but I had a gift card to cover it, so I say that counts.  Gotta love the cleverly worded goals.

3. Get my name changed with my banks. Fail.
What will probably happen is that all of my tax forms will be in the wrong name and then the IRS will send someone to arrest me.  Maybe then I’ll finally get around to doing this!

4. Send out 30 thank you’s. Kinda?
We wrote 46!  They aren’t sent yet, but that is because I am stupid and forgot to write the ones that need to be sent out first.  My plan is to write them tonight so that I can take credit for getting it done in November!

5. Go to yoga on average once per week. Done!
I love this class.

6. Bake cookies for the office Thanksgiving. Done!
I made my sister’s secret Rolo cookie recipe, and even the pumpkin pie wasn’t as popular as those caramel-filled delights.  I also made my great-grandmother’s butter cookie recipe, but someone else at work (despite me putting down that I was making the cookies, you guys.  I am filled with petty office rage!) brought in cookies that were similar looking but not as tasty.

7. Create 2010 budget. Done!
I’ve already posted my comments on this, so now it’s just time to create some concrete goals based on the numbers.

4 Responses

  1. The no clothes thing is sooo hard! And 5.5 out of 7 isn’t too bad.

  2. Ok – I have to ask — how do you compute your savings percentage? It seems like such a motivating thing to track.

    Do you just ignore the pre-tax/post-tax stuff and take total saved/gross pay? I think I might track that in 2010. My overly complex savings goals just confuse me!

    • I typically compute it 2 ways. Usually I just look at what I put into savings or my Roth vs. my take-home pay (after tax and after 401K).

      I have also tracked what part of my gross pay I save, and that includes 401K contributions. This one is harder to track for me, especially this year. I don’t know how to track things like book reimbursements, and with the relocation and tax assistance, my federal taxable gross is around $20,000 higher than what I’m actually making. It doesn’t seem fair to track that, but it all gets lumped together so I get confused!

      Usually I focus on the former – it’s more concrete and pretty much every part is within my control, and that’s way more motivating.

      • This comment was on the wrong post I guess, but thanks for answering with your method.

        I have tried to track it in the 2nd way, but it seemed unfair that taxes were counted against me and it is confusing, as you mentioned. So I always just gave up!

Leave a Reply

