Trying to find inspiration for my work wardrobe.

In an attempt to curb my shopping problem, I’ve recently been trying to put together pieces I already have in my closet in ways that makes them feel new.  Though there are some things I really, really want to buy myself – ankle boots like these are high on the list! – but I have too many clothes as it is.

I’m planning to post pictures of my creations eventually, but until then, here are some blogs/pictures that I will be using as my style inspiration.

Financial Services Is Not Fashion. I love this blog because I can get behind EVERYTHING she wears. Although recently she has been buying higher-end clothing (a place I cannot follow), it’s still all very wearable. She is good inspiration for work and weekends, and I covet pretty much every one of her handbags.

Michelle Obama. Not a fashion blog, but she is so very awesome.

Fab Finds Under 50. In January, I lamented the lack of fashion blogs focusing on retail clothes. This blog is the answer to that, kind of. Although she has some wonderful vintage finds and some higher-end items (like a pair of Prada pumps, OMG), most of her stuff is purchased at regular stores.

I’m so excited for October because a.) it’s going to be the first month where I won’t be on vacation for part of it or doing insane wedding spending, and b.) it’s a 3-paycheck month! I’ve also volunteered to do some shift work and work overtime, so that will also pad things. I’m hoping that the success will get me back into tracking my finances and thinking about savings.

I also haven’t forgotten about my promise to post wedding pictures, but since the professional shots should be back pretty soon, I figured I’d wait a little longer. I will, however, leave you with a picture of my cake because it was exactly what I wanted! Inspired by this cake at Martha Stewart Weddings because deep down, I was that kind of bride.

P8290315

4 Responses

  1. Can’t wait to see your pics of your outfits.. 🙂

  2. That’s a fun idea, can’t wait to see what you come up with. (I have considered photographing my clothes in an attempt to organize them and have some sort of amazing system ala Clueless. But i’m pretty sure it would not work and i’d just waste a lot of time photographing.)

    I like the cake a lot!

  3. I’m mostly jealous that Cari (is not Fashion) had a Herve Leger dress. *swoon* 🙂

    Also, great cake!! It’s so cute and elegant. Simplicity is awesome.

  4. I hate buying work clothes, they aren’t much fun and I don’t wear them outside of work, so I stick to a simple wardrobe that is interchangeable. But now I need to buy a bunch of new shirts cause I just went to brunette from blond and now all my shirts look terrible on me! The colors no longer work for me.

Leave a Reply

