I’m moving!

I accepted the job offer in Virginia, and I’ll be starting on June 26th!

We’re going to be out of town all next week, so this means we’ll have about 3 weeks to plan our road trip and get our asses out the door. My brain is swimming with all of the extra stuff we need to do.

First steps:

  1. Tell my bosses (done and done!  They are pissed, which may be the topic of a future post!).
  2. Tell my landlord (30-day notice required). We’re also going to check to see if she wants to buy our washer & dryer. Who knows if we’ll be able to use them in our new place…
  3. Cancel the newspaper.
  4. Call all the utilities about getting them shut off the day we leave.
  5. Decide when we want the movers to come. We’ll have to stay in a hotel if it’s before the last day, but that’s reimbursed by the company.
  6. Activate my corporate credit card.
  7. Start purging. The more we toss, the less we’ll have to unpack when we get our new place.
  8. Get married. For practical reasons, like healthcare & per diem rates.

I might be MIA part of next week since we’ll be travelling in PA and I might not bring my computer (a netbook would be so useful right now…).

Oh, and if you were planning a road trip across the country, what would you see (we’ll probably be taking a southern route that goes through New Mexico & the Bible Belt)? Leave your suggestions in the comments!

6 Responses

  1. That’s awesome! When I moved here I was originally planning on driving, but going through the mnts in winter seemed less and less fun. It was totally awesome to just get on a plane with a suite case and know EVERYTHING else was taken care of.

    Have fun!

  2. I am so excited for you! Good luck and keep us updated!!

  3. Congrats! I’ve never stopped during my cross county trips but check out http://www.roadsideamerica.com for odd tourist stops.

  4. Oh my goodness! I was just wondering what was going on with your job offer!!
    What did you decide to do about Chad’s job? Will you both be ok on just your salary for a while?

    I’ve been told that Albuquerque is wonderful.

  5. Congrats!! And yes, please do a post about the bosses’ reactions at some point. 🙂

    I’m from Memphis originally, so if you can, I think you should stop there for a night or so. 🙂 I don’t think you could go wrong in New Mexico. A friend of mine lives there now and she loves the Santa Fe and Taos areas.

  6. If you’re looking for more scenic than take the 10, I-40 is faster but less to do along the way. If you do the 10 you can stop in New Orleans! Good luck with everything, sounds like you have a lot to do in a short period of time. Do you have a place to live in VA?

Leave a Reply

