February Wrap-Up

To Accomplish, February 2009

1. Go to the gym 2x/week, do something else 1x/week. Fail-ish.
We averaged about 1.5 tmes per week at the gym, but I did manage to get a lot more physical activity than usual. Goal will be continued next month – even if I don’t make it, I like forcing myself to try.

2. Be about halfway through my project for Class #1. Fail.
I’ve written about 6 pages of a 60-page paper. Granted, this is unformatted and doesn’t have any of the equations/tables/graphs that the final paper will have. Still, I was hoping I would have gotten more done.

3. Finish my taxes. Done!
Yay!

4. Book a photographer, band, officiant. Order wedding cake. Talk to a travel agent about the honeymoon.
Yes, yes, sorta. Yes. No. We’ve booked everything except maybe the officiant; Chad’s parent’s know a judge so I think we’re going to have him do it. I told Chad to give his parents a go-ahead, but since the guy is a family friend there was no way to formally “book” him.
We opted not to talk to a travel agent since we found a website with exactly the kind of tour we wanted to take. I’ll post more on that later in March.

5. Save $1000, plus 75% of bonus. If I get a tax refund, save all of it, less $100. Done!
Going to save 100% of my tax refund, but yes.  Threw $1400 total into savings!

6. Spend less than $400 on groceries & eating out (for both Chad and me). Win!
We spent $315.35 total, including some nights where we just pulled out cash & also bought movie tickets. I think this number was a little lower than usual because we bought a lot of food in January and didn’t have to shop a lot in February. Still, I say we win.

One Response

  1. It’s interesting what you were saying about saving. According to oldschool “how to budget” guides, most people should be saving TEN PERCENT of their disposable income against unforseen inconveniences every month…

Leave a Reply

