More thoughts on frugal weddings.

I decided that I’m not going to apologize for wedding posts anymore. The wedding + honeymoon are a huge factor shaping my finances this year, so it makes sense to write about it. Every time I stress about meeting my savings goals, it’s because I’m worried about how much the wedding costs.

At the very least, I promise to keep the posts to less than once a week.

I’ve been visiting a lot of planning websites lately. The Knot (unfortunately, they’re the only place with solid leads on regional vendors!), OffbeatBride, and IndieBride. What I find boggling is that each site – though they claim to cater to different people – ultimately tell brides the same thing. The wedding is YOUR DAY and it should be a representation of YOU and YOUR RELATIONSHIP. You have to inject your own personality into your wedding at every point, whether it’s by wearing a red dress or carrying your favorite book down the aisle or having live statues as table centerpieces.

I said before that i’m not having a frugal wedding.  I’m not having an “offbeat” one either.  My general feeling is that your personality is going to shine through no matter what.  And it’s with the personalization that you’ll find people spend the most money.  You can get so fixated on something weird and quirky (I briefly considered lifelike bobblehead centerpieces), which is only available from one place in the world. It’s why there’s a market for $10,000 dresses and $500 centerpieces.

And what’s the point, really, when we’re all conforming by having a big wedding party instead of making a quick trip to City Hall?

(I still might make our first dance to Rick Astley if I can get Chad to go for it.)

And just for fun, I bought my wedding shoes!  I wanted navy blue ones, but a 20% off J. Crew code came my way (code is SHHH) so I just got the ivory.
shoes1

2 Responses

  1. It is your wedding, but it’s not all about you. It’s also about your families, and you have to at least consider that. It’s impossible to have a wedding without offending someone, but that doesn’t mean you should just ignore everyone else’s thoughts.

  2. I don’t mind the wedding posts, your blog should reflect your life and this is a big part of it right now. Not to mention the cost implications of weddings. I love the shoes, very cute.

Leave a Reply

