November Wrap-Up

1. Start getting ideas for/ buying Christmas presents. Done.
This was a vague and useless goal, but I have figured out gift for just about everyone.

2. Begin studying for my first final, which is on 12/2/2008. Done.
I met with some classmates last night to work through problems. I’m hoping this exam won’t be too brutal.

3. Exercise 4 times per week. Fail.
I started off SO WELL with this. The first week, we did 5 days. Then it kind of petered out because I had a project due & felt like I should go home and work on it. Even though I didn’t actually do any work on it at all.

4. Schedule classes for the spring semester. Done!
This was an easy one. I’m starting to get excited – I’ll be done with school in May!

5. Save 50% of my take-home pay.  Or, donate & save amounts of money that total half my take-home pay. Done!

6. Make a food items I’ve never made before. Done!
I did this a bunch of times. I made broccoli-cheddar soup that was tasty but REALLY salty (I blame my store-bought chicken stock), a pumpkin pie, and I cooked the turkey on Thanksgiving! I was too squeamish with the turkey though, and now there are various pictures of me squealing in fear as I discovered the neck, the giblets, and some dangly piece of innards that still sends a shudder through my body.

Other notable goal achievements include writing the organics article, which is incomplete but at least partially posted, and typing up a list of all the clothes I am going to donate. These goals have been hanging around since September… ugh.

5 Responses

  1. Good job!

    Innards make me squeal too. It’s why BF handles that part….

    I like the goal of saving 50% of your take home pay.

  2. Your #6 item reminds me of the time I left the giblets in the cornish hen when I cooked it. (Didn’t know about giblets back then.) Gross! Anyhoo, I’d say meeting 5 out of 6 of your goals is a job well done. Keep up the awesome job.

  3. I once went to a friends for thanksgiving, and she made a point of announcing “I get to eat the heart!”. She was seriously worried there would be competition? Ewwww.

    Also, done in May? that is awesome, I can’t yet see the light at the end of the tunnel. When did you start?

    Oh, and today is 12/2, hope it went well!

  4. Congrats on making 5 out of 6 goals, that’s great!

    I thought broccoli-cheddar soup was always a bit too salty, it’s not supposed to be?

  5. @ FB: I’m on track to save 50% for the whole year! This excites me. It’s nothing compared to you ($100,000 net worth gain in 2.5 years! Awesome!), but there’s something about it that makes me happy.

    @ Shtinkykat: I convinced Chad to get the neck, but as I was washing the turkey off, I discovered the giblets in another hole (I didn’t know there were 2!). Then we discovered the dangly thing. *shudder*

    @SP: You know, I found something inside the bird, and maybe it was the heart! I actually found it hard to enjoy the turkey though, after seeing it raw. I think I have issues if I think about my food being actual living things.

    I started school in summer 2007, so I’ll have finished in about 2 years. Taking 3 classes this semester really shortened the time frame, otherwise I’d need at least 1 more semester.

    @Revanche: I don’t know! I usually stick to meat-and-vegetables-floating-in-broth soups, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’m hoping the next time I make it I can think of a spice that might cut through the saltiness a bit more.

Leave a Reply

