Random Thoughts

Did anyone read/like the Organics posts?  I’m saving the best for sometime this week, where I look at the claims of health benefits.  Maybe for Turkey Day, so that those of you enjoying organic turkey will be too sleepy to tell me how wrong I am.

This is the first Thanksgiving that I will not spend with my extended family.  Instead, my sister, Chad and I, and some friends of ours from college will make our own dinner.  I think it will be a lot of fun, but it won’t be the same.  I wonder if I made the right choice.  A $600 plane ride home seemed out of the question back when I was trying to book a flight, but it was by no means undoable.  Did I go too far with trying to be frugal?

Well-Heeled wrote a post about her Christmas gift-giving. I’m in a similar situation. I don’t do gift exchanges with my friends or coworkers, so I only buy presents for my family members. I was lucky to have thought up good gifts for everyone this year; usually I can’t think of anything and spend extra to compensate. This year, the gifts are more expensive but they are perfect.

A question: what is everyone doing about charity?  Are you doing anything different?  With my retirement accounts completely underwater, the idea of keeping cash seems comforting.  At the same time, there are so many horror stories about food banks running out of food, people losing their homes, I’m sure a bunch of people will set fire to their houses by trying to deep-fry a turkey, and CNN had a picture of a sad puppy that had been brought to the pound because its owners couldn’t afford to feed it anymore.  There are so many people who need help, but I can’t help everyone and really, is my contribution even going to matter?  Lehmann Brothers donated hundreds of millions of dollars last year.  How can my paltry amount compare to that?

On a happier note, I’m looking forward to the end of classes!  Next week is the last week, and then I have finals.  I’m doing well in all my classes, so barring any problems on my finals (problems are likely, though; I have been slacking!) I should get through this semester OK.  It will be over, at least.  Next semester I’m only taking 2 classes, and that will be much more manageable.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve been reading your organics series…and am looking forward to reading more, but remain of the school of thought that every little bit helps. I’m a little interested in the claim that “most” organic food is imported — as that seems a bit odd. I think most fresh produce I buy comes from california this time of year.

    Its important to be a conscious consumer — I noticed some canned organic beans I was buying were coming from China, which seemed absurd and wrong, so I stopped buying them, and try to buy more dried beans instead.

    Ginger, pineapple, bananas…. unless you live in Hawaii, these probably are coming from overseas, and having spent time overseas, my immediate reaction is that even if regulation isn’t perfect, its better than drowning their soil and rivers in pesticides so that we can eat exotic foods and they can suffer the consequences.

    As for chickens, milk, meat… I’m a vegetarian, so I don’t even go there. Its a whole different story.

    You’re doing a great job. I think its so new that its difficult to find a lot of peer reviewed sources and find clear information. Looking forward to seeing whats up next!

  2. @Seattle Girl: Well, to be fair to me, the word was “much” :-). Uhhh…. I’ll sift through my giant list of articles, but here they talk about how the US has become a net importer of organic goods, and this was in ’06 before the craze really got started.

    I personally buy whatever is cheaper/looks fresher. My local Trader Joe’s seems to trade off – one week, the regular lettuce will look yellow and I’ll go for organic. The next week, the organic lettuce will be brown and I’ll get the regular.

    Ultimately, I think people can buy whatever they want. And you have educated yourself on what organic means and you actually look at what you’re buying. That is the most important thing, and it’s something I hope my article helps people to do, even if they decide they would prefer to not take chances.

  3. I don’t think you went too far with saying no to the $600 flight

    You ARE going to see them for Xmas right? That should be OK… $600 is a bit much when you can’t afford it or it’s getting close to the line.

Leave a Reply

