Links, The Black Plague Edition

I caught some sort of mutant cold/flu illness over Halloween, and I’m having a lot of trouble shaking it.  I haven’t had time to work on any new entries, so I instead will point you to some articles around the net.

Broke Grad Student gives us Thanksgiving travel tips. I’m not planning on going home for Thanksgiving this year, which was partially a money choice (I was trying to buy right around the time gas prices & thus flights were at their peak) and partially a time choice (my finals start the week after TG).

DogAteMyFinances wrote a post on Prop8 here in California. I live in California and think it’s just awful. People, whatever your religious beliefs might be, there should be NO givernment action related to religion. That includes gay marriage. I’m baffled by the desire of certain people to impose their religious ideas on the rest of the country to the point where it restricts rights. No one is saying that churches have to marry homosexuals if they don’t want to; allowing gay marriage simply gives them the same LEGAL rights. C’mon now.

Gala asked everyone to recommend books. I’ve bookmarked this entry for when I finally have time to read again; most of the recommendations are spot on. I recommended The Secret History by Donna Tartt, as well as this short story by Sarah Rees Brennan. I’ve been following her for a long time, and her stories are always hilarious & well-written.

If there is anyone out there who watches Gossip Girl, Jacob’s recaps at Television Without Pity are hilarious and I’m finding that they actually add another layer to the story.  If you don’t watch GG you might not get it, but for those of you who do, seriously. Go. read.

Finally, Seattle Girl is starting a Soup Series at her blog. Even in California the temperature has been dropping (except today; it’s going up to 75!), and I have been craving soup!

Also: people keep finding my blog through searches on whether or not 401Ks are still a good idea.  The answer, emphatically, is yes.

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I tried the andean bean stew the other day (along with 5 other willing testers) and everyone was pleased! Using canned beans saved me a lot of time. I cubed the squash, covered it with veggie broth and let it cook while I prepped everything else.

    I hope you feel better soon! Plenty of people seem to be hanging on to some post-Halloween nastiness.

  2. I hope you feel better soon. They are offering free flu shots today in my building, and I was debating whether I should get one or not… This post pushes me towards yes.

    Also, prop 8 pisses me off (esp those commercials for it), though I assume it will eventually be repealed due to unconstitutionality. Civil rights can’t just be decided by popular vote.

  3. Get better soon!

    Actually, SP, I believe Prop 8 was a constitutional amendment as well as an initiative so it has to be repealed based on a popular vote, not based on unconstitutionality. Bleh, I say to that, and I look forward to the repeal.

  4. I just started The Secret History! Glad to know someone recommends it 🙂

  5. @ SP: Naturally, I caught my illness right after saying I didn’t need the shot! Stupid, stupid!

    @ Sunflowers: You will not be disappointed! It probably is one of the best books I have read in the past few years!

Leave a Reply

