To Accomplish, November 2008

I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s futile to try to accomplish much while I’m in school.  There’s a little over 4 weeks of class left, which means final projects are being assigned & I should be starting to study for exams.  My final exam schedule is much less brutal than my midterms schedule – Instead of all exams the same week, they’re spread out over 3 weeks!  I suspect I will need the extra study time; I’ve started falling behind.

1. Start getting ideas for/ buying Christmas presents.
I always winding up spending more when I rush around at the end of December trying in vain to think of parental presents.  This year I will be organized!

2. Begin studying for my first final, which is on 12/2/2008.
Of course this exam is the week after Thanksgiving! Nothing like ruining a family holiday. Actually, this exam being scheduled here is what makes my finals schedule so nice, so I won’t complain too much.

3. Exercise 4 times per week.
Even if I just do some yoga or go on a walk with a friend from work. I find I get less stressed when I am able to just do something.

4. Schedule classes for the spring semester.
I’m still deciding if I should take a hard class that will challenge me and be interesting and cover material I would want to know if I continued on to a PhD or an easier class that will still be interesting. My original plan was to take both, but naturally the class times conflict.

5. Save 50% of my take-home pay.  Or, donate & save amounts of money that total half my take-home pay.
Pretty self-explanatory.

6. Make a food items I’ve never made before.
We’re going to have Thanksgiving with some friends (since none one of us could afford airplane tickets home), so it will probably be a potluck type thing.   I haven’t made a pie, or a turkey, or a thousand other dishes.  I’d like to give it a try, although hopefully I won’t get stuck making turkey!

6 Responses

  1. ” My original plan was to take both, but naturally the class times conflict.”
    Do you watch the lectures live? Interesting.

    Good luck, everything sounds reasonable!

  2. I like the 50% saving idea. I did that too. And it really helped me feel confident that I knew what I was saving and why.

    Oh and good luck on finding Christmas gifts!

  3. @SP: I don’t usually, but I don’t think they allow conflicting schedules anyway. It definitely would pose a problem during finals (when I have to go up to campus) since they’re based on class time.

    @FB: This is my ultimate goal this year – for 50% of take-home pay saved. If I make it this month, I’ll be there already!

  4. Good luck with your goals! I am in denial about Christmas…. don’t. want. to. think. about. it.

  5. I started buying Christmas presents at the end of October. That way, my spending will be spread out over 4 or 5 paychecks. Also, I just sold back some DVDs and CDs so that I could get credit to use for presents.

  6. Good luck with your goals – I think you should tackle the turkey! Me and my sister got stuck with doing the ham last christmas and we freaked out but it turned out fantastic and we were so proud of it we didn’t really want anyone to eat it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

