September Wrap-Up

This month flew by really fast!  I think it’s because I have been so busy with work and school and football season.  (I am using this lead in as a way of explaining why I failed to meet like 90% of my goals this month.)

1. Work ahead on homework for my design class. Kinda?
I finished about half, but with all the other work I have to do, it’s just not feasible to work as far ahead as I would like.  Unless I spent all my time on schoolwork, but can’t a girl veg out on TV every once in a while?

2. Buy the rest of my books & submit reimbursements. Done!
This is done!  My last book was only $13, so I guess it’s not really all that exciting.

3. Buy my Grandpop a birthday present. Done!
Done!  My grandparents are easy to shop for, though.  They’re on a fixed income, but love going out to eat.  My grandmother is a notorious spendthrift, so they don’t usually ahve the money for it.  Thus, gift cards to restaurants are always appreciated.

4. Get my USC Student ID. Fail.
It’s the light blue background.  Who in the world has something big enough to cover the background of a picture?

5. Buy new jeans. Done!
I did buy some jeans at Anthropologie, some high-waisted bootcut jeans.  Unfortunately, my stumpy legs make them unwearable until I get around to hemming them myself/taking them to a tailor.  Hopefully I will get around to doing this soon.

6. Work out ~3 times per week.  Fail.
Uhhh.  Maybe twice per week.  This is sad.  I blame school, but honestly, going for a run will take less than half an hour.  Going to the gym might take an hour, tops.  I should be able to make that kind of time for this.

7. Bring donations to Goodwill/Salvation Army. Fail.
Argh!  No.  I’m going to blame this on the fact that I have to type up my own receipt.  If they would just write “Yeah, she donated some stuff.  No, we don’t really know what, ask her!” on a piece of paper and stamp it or something, then I could wait and make up the list when I do my taxes.

8. Write the organics article that has been bouncing around in my head. Fail.
I typed up part one, which is just an objective overview of the regulations.  That’s easy.  The hard part is finding objective sources about what it gets right and wrong.  It seems like all of the pro-organic websites are shrill (and link to “research” performed by pro-organic scientific groups), and none of the anti-organic articles I’ve read have citations or anything.  I don’t want to just be listing things that others who agree with me write; I don’t want to bias my research to fit the entries I want to write.

I’m not guessing October will be much better than September, since in addition to my normal schoolwork I’ll have midterms and teachers will start handing out final projects…

3 Responses

  1. Well, just roll over those “failed” goals to next month and don’t add MORE too it, just work on what you didn’t finish yet! 🙂

    Good luck!

  2. LOL the donation thing kills me too… I ought to get on that

  3. Hey don’t worry, you did better than me – I never even got around to posting my September goals!

Leave a Reply

