June Goals & Objectives

Calling this a list of “goals” is not entirely accurate; it’s more of a To Do list for the month.  I’d like to start actually creating finance goals, similar to Krystal’s monthly challenges.  I’m pretty good at keeping my own spending down, so I guess I will focus on reducing expenses for me and my fiancé (Incidentally, I hate the word fiancé and am going to refer to him as my boyfriend in the future.  Until the wedding, of course.)

June 2008 Goals & Objectives

1. Hit $11,000 deposited to saving (YTD).
This was originally set at $10,000, but since I am counting the third paycheck from May in my June budget, I should bring in about $800 more than I need to meet that goal. It’s up to me to find the extra $200 or so to meet the new $11K requirement.

2. Book Thanksgiving travel.
One of the most annoying things about living 3000 miles away from most of my family is the fact that every trip home is expensive and has to be planned months in advance.  This cuts down on cost, but leaves the trips open to the many things that can go wrong with travel plans.

For example, last August I booked a flight home for Christmas, only to find out about 3 weeks before the trip that I would be traveling for work over the holidays.  My $350 was essentially wasted.  I was able to work out a deal with Expedia so that they would take a fee and I could have the rest to spend on a ticket, but I have to use the credit before August.  I don’t know where I will be or what I will be doing in November- I might be at a new job or I might leave work and finish my Masters degree.  It’s very hard to book travel with all of the uncertainty. Therefore, I have added #3 and #4 to this list.

3. Talk to my future manager about my (possible) new job.
A lot of things are in flux with my company.  We just lost a big contract and layoffs are already planned.  I either need to confirm that my job is still available or…

4. Look into taking a leave of absense or volunteering for a layoff.
My company has great education benefits, including the ability to take time off to return to school full time.  The downside is that I will have to find some way to finance my tuition until the reimbursements kick in.  The layoffs are probably a measure of last resort.  If I could get my bosses to agree (unlikely- my organization is actually hurting for people right now), I would work until the last week of August, just after classes start.  There’s a loophole in the layoff benefits: any class that starts before your last day of work will be paid for by the company.  Pretty sweet, but I’m sure this is not something that will actually work out.

5. Buy Father’s Day presents for my dad and my grandfather.
My sisters and I usually share the cost on a giant basket of food from Harry and David or filet mignon from Omaha Steaks.

6. Submit my GRE receipt to get reimbursed.
I am really slacking on this… I took the test last September!

7. Control joint account spending.
My boyfriend and I have a joint account, into which we deposit around $1200/ month and take care of rent, utilities, and food.  Recently, though, we’ve been going over budget.  It’s not a big deal since we’ve been running under budget for so long, but I would like to see us control ourselves a little better.
Specifically,

Food < $250
Eating out < $100
Gas < $120 (this might be wishful thinking…)
Miscellaneous spending < $100
Utilities (roughly fixed, around $200/month)
Rent (fixed, $1485/month)
2 Responses

  1. Nothing wrong with To Do lists.. they’re like goals. But mini.

    Thanks for coming by 🙂 I added you to my Google reader!

    And your budget categories sound reasonable unlike mine LOL.. 🙂 But I’m really counting on clearing my debt this month

  2. Thanks for the add! I’m adding you to my blogroll! How does the Google reader work?

    As for our budget… I never know what’s reasonable! We’ll be gone for the last week of June, so I think we should be able to meet this. We used to spend $400/month on food (and we’re not buying high-quality stuff either!), so I’ve been trying to rein that in. We’re also trying to save for a wedding. I can’t believe how much everything costs!

Leave a Reply

